Here are two of my favorite books:

1. Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer. This book is unlike any other I’ve ever read, and I’m not only referring to the story. The book itself has photos and diagrams and strange fonts and all sorts of things not usually found in a fictional piece. I don’t want to say much about the actual story line because the less you know, the more interesting the unfolding becomes. Suffice it to say the main character is a young precocious boy named Oskar Schnell whose father was killed on 9/11. I loved the story so, and hated for it to end.

2. The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan. This book will make you think about the way you eat, or to be more precise, exactly what you eat.  Regardless of whether you eat meat or not (and BTW the author is a meat eater), after reading this book you can’t help but contemplate how your food gets to your plate.

