When my oldest child lost her first tooth, I realized how easy it would be for the tooth fairy to have trouble finding a teeny-weeny tooth under the pillow of an excited and wiggly five-year-old. I quickly decided the tooth needed some sort of holding device to keep it safe while awaiting the fairy’s visit.

I created a special tooth fairy pillow when we discovered the second loose tooth. The pillow not only made this particular right of passage more celebratory, it soon became my daughter’s “security blanket”. She hugged the pillow each night as she fell asleep, and even took it with on sleepovers.  And years after the last tooth was left for the fairy, the pillow was still a favorite.

This daughter turned 18 just a few days ago, and for her gift I resurrected her pillow from years of wear and tear and love. While I don’t have a photo here of her second-generation pillow, below are photos of other tooth fairy pillows I recently made for other special little ones.

If you’re interested, my pillows are available in my etsy shop.

